Skip to content

Nuclear Power Demonstration (NPD) nuclear power plant

Nuclear Power Demonstration (NPD) nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in Canada with 1 unit on record. None is currently operating.

Shelved1Retired1circle area ∝ site capacity Coastlines, borders and lakes: Natural Earth (1:10 million, public domain), which is generalised, so a coastal plant can sit a couple of kilometres off its true shoreline. Site positions: Global Nuclear Power Tracker.
Units on record
1
Operating
0
Operating capacity
not disclosed
Country

Units

UnitStatusTypeModelGross MWOnline
Nuclear Power Demonstration (NPD) nuclear power plant Retired PHWR CANDU 25 1962

Unit by unit

Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.

Nuclear Power Demonstration (NPD) nuclear power plant Retired

Reactor typePressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR)
ModelCANDU
Size classSmall
Gross capacity25MW
Net capacity22MW
Thermal output92MWt
EnrichmentNatural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required
NSSS vendorAtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy)
OwnerAECL100%
OperatorOntario Hydro
Construction start1 Jan 1958
First criticality11 Apr 1962
Grid connection4 Jun 1962
Commercial operation1 Oct 1962
Permanent shutdown1 Aug 1987

Nuclear Power Demonstration (NPD) nuclear power plant in context

The one unit with both construction and grid dates on record took 4.4 years from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1960s is 5.0 years.

The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Darlington New nuclear power plant (270 km), Darlington nuclear power plant (271 km) and Pickering nuclear power plant (287 km).

Build time by unit

UnitConstruction startGrid connectionYearsFleet median, same decade
Nuclear Power Demonstration (NPD) nuclear power plant195819624.45.0 (1960s)

Nearest tracked nuclear sites

How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.

Site detail
LocationOntario, Canada
Coordinates46.1867, -77.6578
Elevationabout 130 mabove sea level
SettingAbout 260 km from the sea
RegionNorthern America
Units by status
Retired: 1

Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.

Owners & operators
Owners
AECL
Operators
Ontario Hydro

Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.