Darlington New nuclear power plant
Darlington New nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in Canada with 4 units on record. None is currently operating.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | Under construction | - | BWRX-300 | 300 | 2030 |
| Unit 2 | Announced | - | BWRX-300 | 300 | 2036 |
| Unit 3 | Announced | - | BWRX-300 | 300 | 2036 |
| Unit 4 | Announced | - | BWRX-300 | 300 | 2036 |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Darlington New nuclear power plant 1 Under construction
| Reactor type | small modular reactor |
|---|---|
| Model | BWRX-300 |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 300MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Ontario Power Generation |
| Construction start | 22 Apr 2025 |
|---|---|
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2030 |
Darlington New nuclear power plant 2 Announced
| Reactor type | small modular reactor |
|---|---|
| Model | BWRX-300 |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 300MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Ontario Power Generation |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2036 |
|---|
Darlington New nuclear power plant 3 Announced
| Reactor type | small modular reactor |
|---|---|
| Model | BWRX-300 |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 300MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Ontario Power Generation |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2036 |
|---|
Darlington New nuclear power plant 4 Announced
| Reactor type | small modular reactor |
|---|---|
| Model | BWRX-300 |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 300MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Ontario Power Generation |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2036 |
|---|
Darlington New nuclear power plant in context
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Darlington nuclear power plant (2 km), Pickering nuclear power plant (30 km) and Robert Emmett Ginna nuclear power plant (130 km).
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Darlington nuclear power plant | Canada | 2 km | 3.7 |
| Pickering nuclear power plant | Canada | 30 km | 2.2 |
| Robert Emmett Ginna nuclear power plant | United States | 130 km | 0.6 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Darlington New nuclear power plant's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | Clarington, Ontario, Canada |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 43.8733, -78.7057 |
| Elevation | about 90 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the shore of a large lake, 2.2 km from the water |
| Region | Northern America |
| Units by status | Under construction: 1 Announced: 3 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Ontario Power Generation Inc |
|---|---|
| Operators | Ontario Power Generation |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data