Darlington nuclear power plant
Darlington nuclear power plant is a nuclear power station in Canada with 4 operating units totalling 3,736 MW gross. The site has 6 units on record in total.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | PHWR | CANDU 850 | 934 | 1992 | |
| Unit 2 | PHWR | CANDU 850 | 934 | 1990 | |
| Unit 3 | PHWR | CANDU 850 | 934 | 1993 | |
| Unit 4 | PHWR | CANDU 850 | 934 | 1993 | |
| Unit 5 | Cancelled | PWR | AP-1000 | 1,200 | - |
| Unit 6 | Cancelled | PWR | AP-1000 | 1,200 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Darlington nuclear power plant 1
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 850 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 934MW |
| Net capacity | 878MW |
| Thermal output | 2,776MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Ontario Power Generation |
| Construction start | 1 Apr 1982 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 29 Oct 1990 |
| Grid connection | 19 Dec 1990 |
| Commercial operation | 14 Nov 1992 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Darlington nuclear power plant 1
Darlington nuclear power plant 2
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 850 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 934MW |
| Net capacity | 878MW |
| Thermal output | 2,776MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Ontario Power Generation |
| Construction start | 1 Sep 1981 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 5 Nov 1989 |
| Grid connection | 15 Jan 1990 |
| Commercial operation | 9 Oct 1990 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Darlington nuclear power plant 2
Darlington nuclear power plant 3
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 850 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 934MW |
| Net capacity | 878MW |
| Thermal output | 2,776MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Ontario Power Generation |
| Construction start | 1 Sep 1984 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 9 Nov 1992 |
| Grid connection | 7 Dec 1992 |
| Commercial operation | 14 Feb 1993 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Darlington nuclear power plant 3
Darlington nuclear power plant 4
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | CANDU 850 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 934MW |
| Net capacity | 878MW |
| Thermal output | 2,776MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | AtkinsRéalis (Candu Energy) |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Operator | Ontario Power Generation |
| Construction start | 1 Jul 1985 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 13 Mar 1993 |
| Grid connection | 17 Apr 1993 |
| Commercial operation | 14 Jun 1993 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Darlington nuclear power plant 4
Darlington nuclear power plant 5 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | AP-1000 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,200MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Cancelled | 2013 |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Darlington nuclear power plant 6 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | AP-1000 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,200MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Cancelled | 2013 |
| Owner | Ontario Power Generation Inc100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Darlington nuclear power plant in context
By gross operating capacity Darlington nuclear power plant is the 2nd largest of 4 operating nuclear sites in Canada, holding 28% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 31st of 172 worldwide.
Its operating units started up between 1990 and 1993; the median unit is 33.5 years old, younger than the median of 41.0 in Canada.
The 4 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 7.8 to 8.7 years (median 8.3) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1990s is 8.0 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Darlington New nuclear power plant (2 km), Pickering nuclear power plant (28 km) and Robert Emmett Ginna nuclear power plant (132 km).
4 operating units are rated differently now from their design net capacities: Unit 1 -0.3%, Unit 2 -0.3%, Unit 3 -0.3% and Unit 4 -0.3%.
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 2 | 1981 | 1990 | 8.4 | 8.0 (1990s) |
| Unit 1 | 1982 | 1990 | 8.7 | 8.0 (1990s) |
| Unit 3 | 1984 | 1992 | 8.3 | 8.0 (1990s) |
| Unit 4 | 1985 | 1993 | 7.8 | 8.0 (1990s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Darlington New nuclear power plant | Canada | 2 km | - |
| Pickering nuclear power plant | Canada | 28 km | 2.2 |
| Robert Emmett Ginna nuclear power plant | United States | 132 km | 0.6 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Darlington nuclear power plant's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | Clarington, Ontario, Canada |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 43.8697, -78.7239 |
| Elevation | about 110 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the shore of a large lake, 2.2 km from the water |
| Region | Northern America |
| Units by status | Operating: 4 Cancelled: 2 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Ontario Power Generation Inc |
|---|---|
| Operators | Ontario Power Generation |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data