Surry nuclear power plant
Surry nuclear power plant is a nuclear power station in United States with 2 operating units totalling 1,780 MW gross. The site has 4 units on record in total.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | PWR | WH 3LP (DRYSUB) | 890 | 1972 | |
| Unit 2 | PWR | WH 3LP (DRYSUB) | 890 | 1973 | |
| Unit 3 | Cancelled | PWR | - | 859 | - |
| Unit 4 | Cancelled | PWR | - | 859 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Surry nuclear power plant 1
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | Westinghouse 3-loop |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 890MW |
| Net capacity | 838MW |
| Thermal output | 2,587MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Owner | Dominion Resources Inc100% |
| Operator | Dominion Energy |
| Construction start | 25 Jun 1968 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 1 Jul 1972 |
| Grid connection | 4 Jul 1972 |
| Commercial operation | 22 Dec 1972 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Surry nuclear power plant 1
Surry nuclear power plant 2
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | Westinghouse 3-loop |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 890MW |
| Net capacity | 838MW |
| Thermal output | 2,587MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Owner | Dominion Resources Inc100% |
| Operator | Dominion Energy |
| Construction start | 25 Jun 1968 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 7 Mar 1973 |
| Grid connection | 10 Mar 1973 |
| Commercial operation | 1 May 1973 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Surry nuclear power plant 2
Surry nuclear power plant 3 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 859MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Cancelled | 1977 |
| Owner | Virginia Electric and Power Co100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Surry nuclear power plant 4 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 859MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Cancelled | 1977 |
| Owner | Virginia Electric and Power Co100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Surry nuclear power plant in context
By gross operating capacity Surry nuclear power plant is the 32nd largest of 54 operating nuclear sites in the United States, holding 2% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 106th of 172 worldwide.
Its operating units started up between 1972 and 1973; the median unit is 53.5 years old, older than the median of 45.0 in the United States.
The 2 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 4.0 to 4.7 years (median 4.4) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1970s is 5.4 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Calvert Cliffs nuclear power plant (143 km), Shearon Harris nuclear power plant (264 km) and Salem nuclear power plant (275 km).
2 operating units are rated differently now from their design net capacities: Unit 1 +6.3% and Unit 2 +6.3%.
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | 1968 | 1972 | 4.0 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit 2 | 1968 | 1973 | 4.7 | 5.4 (1970s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calvert Cliffs nuclear power plant | United States | 143 km | 1.8 |
| Shearon Harris nuclear power plant | United States | 264 km | 1.0 |
| Salem nuclear power plant | United States | 275 km | 2.5 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Surry nuclear power plant's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | Virginia, United States |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 37.1661, -76.6986 |
| Elevation | about 15 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the sea coast, 0.6 km from the water |
| Region | Northern America |
| Units by status | Operating: 2 Cancelled: 2 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Dominion Resources Inc Virginia Electric and Power Co |
|---|---|
| Operators | Dominion Energy |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data