Perry nuclear power plant
Perry nuclear power plant is a nuclear power station in United States with 1 operating unit totalling 1,303 MW gross. The site has 2 units on record in total.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | BWR | BWR-6 (Mark 3) | 1,303 | 1987 | |
| Unit 2 | Cancelled | BWR | - | 1,205 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Perry nuclear power plant 1
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-6 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,303MW |
| Net capacity | 1,240MW |
| Thermal output | 3,758MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co100% |
| Operator | First Energy Nuclear Operating |
| Construction start | 1 Oct 1974 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 6 Jun 1986 |
| Grid connection | 19 Dec 1986 |
| Commercial operation | 18 Nov 1987 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Perry nuclear power plant 1
Perry nuclear power plant 2 Cancelled
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,205MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Cancelled | 1994 |
| Owner | Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Perry nuclear power plant in context
By gross operating capacity Perry nuclear power plant is the 35th largest of 54 operating nuclear sites in the United States, holding 1% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 122nd of 172 worldwide.
Its operating unit started up in 1987; the unit is 39.0 years old, younger than the median of 45.0 in the United States.
The one unit with both construction and grid dates on record took 12.2 years from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1980s is 7.3 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Beaver Valley nuclear power plant (144 km), Davis Besse nuclear power plant (163 km) and Fermi nuclear power plant (176 km).
The current net rating of Unit 1 differs from its design net capacity by +2.9% (1,205 MW at design, 1,240 MW now).
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | 1974 | 1986 | 12.2 | 7.3 (1980s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beaver Valley nuclear power plant | United States | 144 km | 1.9 |
| Davis Besse nuclear power plant | United States | 163 km | 0.9 |
| Fermi nuclear power plant | United States | 176 km | 1.2 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Perry nuclear power plant's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | Ohio, United States |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 41.8006, -81.1439 |
| Elevation | about 190 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the shore of a large lake, 0.2 km from the water |
| Region | Northern America |
| Units by status | Operating: 1 Cancelled: 1 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co |
|---|---|
| Operators | First Energy Nuclear Operating |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data