Tsuruga nuclear power plant
Tsuruga nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in Japan with 4 units on record. None is currently operating.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | Retired | BWR | BWR-2 | 357 | 1970 |
| Unit 2 | Mothballed | PWR | M (4-loop) | 1,160 | 1987 |
| Unit 3 | Shelved | PWR | Mitsubishi advanced pressurized water reactor (APWR) | 1,538 | - |
| Unit 4 | Shelved | PWR | Mitsubishi advanced pressurized water reactor (APWR) | 1,538 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Tsuruga nuclear power plant 1 Retired
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-2 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 357MW |
| Net capacity | 340MW |
| Thermal output | 1,070MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Japan Atomic Power Co100% |
| Operator | Japan Atomic Power |
| Construction start | 24 Nov 1966 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 3 Oct 1969 |
| Grid connection | 16 Nov 1969 |
| Commercial operation | 14 Mar 1970 |
| Permanent shutdown | 27 Apr 2015 |
Tsuruga nuclear power plant 2 Mothballed
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | Mitsubishi 4-loop |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,160MW |
| Net capacity | 1,108MW |
| Thermal output | 3,411MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Mitsubishi Heavy Industries |
| Owner | Japan Atomic Power Co100% |
| Operator | Japan Atomic Power |
| Construction start | 6 Nov 1982 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 28 May 1986 |
| Grid connection | 19 Jun 1986 |
| Commercial operation | 17 Feb 1987 |
Tsuruga nuclear power plant 3 Shelved
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | Mitsubishi advanced pressurized water reactor (APWR) |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,538MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | Japan Atomic Power Co100% |
| Operator | Japan Atomic Power |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Tsuruga nuclear power plant 4 Shelved
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | Mitsubishi advanced pressurized water reactor (APWR) |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,538MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | Japan Atomic Power Co100% |
| Operator | Japan Atomic Power |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Tsuruga nuclear power plant in context
The one unit with both construction and grid dates on record took 3.0 years from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1960s is 5.0 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Mihama nuclear power plant (7 km), Ohi nuclear power plant (40 km) and Takahama nuclear power plant (53 km).
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | 1966 | 1969 | 3.0 | 5.0 (1960s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mihama nuclear power plant | Japan | 7 km | 0.8 |
| Ohi nuclear power plant | Japan | 40 km | 2.4 |
| Takahama nuclear power plant | Japan | 53 km | 3.4 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
| Location | Tsuruga, Fukui, Japan |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 35.7506, 136.0197 |
| Elevation | about 10 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the sea coast, 0.8 km from the water |
| Region | Eastern Asia |
| Units by status | Retired: 1 Mothballed: 1 Shelved: 2 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Japan Atomic Power Co |
|---|---|
| Operators | Japan Atomic Power |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data