Tarapur nuclear power plant
Tarapur nuclear power plant is a nuclear power station in India with 3 operating units totalling 1,240 MW gross. The site has 6 units on record in total.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | BWR | BWR-1 (Mark 2) | 160 | 1969 | |
| Unit 3 | PHWR | Horizontal Pressure Tube type | 540 | 2006 | |
| Unit 4 | PHWR | Horizontal Pressure Tube type | 540 | 2005 | |
| Unit 2 | Mothballed | BWR | BWR-1 (Mark 2) | 160 | 1969 |
| Unit 5 | Announced | - | BSMR-200 | 200 | - |
| Unit 6 | Announced | - | SMR-55 | 55 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Tarapur nuclear power plant 1
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-1 (Mark 2) |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 160MW |
| Net capacity | 150MW |
| Thermal output | 530MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd100% |
| Operator | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
| Construction start | 1 Oct 1964 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 1 Feb 1969 |
| Grid connection | 1 Apr 1969 |
| Commercial operation | 28 Oct 1969 |
Tarapur nuclear power plant 3
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | Indian PHWR |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 540MW |
| Net capacity | 490MW |
| Thermal output | 1,730MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | Nuclear Power Corporation of India |
| Owner | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd100% |
| Operator | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
| Construction start | 12 May 2000 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 21 May 2006 |
| Grid connection | 15 Jun 2006 |
| Commercial operation | 18 Aug 2006 |
Tarapur nuclear power plant 4
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | Indian PHWR |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 540MW |
| Net capacity | 490MW |
| Thermal output | 1,730MWt |
| Enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235no enrichment required |
| NSSS vendor | Nuclear Power Corporation of India |
| Owner | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd100% |
| Operator | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
| Construction start | 8 Mar 2000 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 6 Mar 2005 |
| Grid connection | 4 Jun 2005 |
| Commercial operation | 12 Sep 2005 |
Tarapur nuclear power plant 2 Mothballed
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-1 (Mark 2) |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 160MW |
| Net capacity | 150MW |
| Thermal output | 530MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd100% |
| Operator | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
| Construction start | 1 Oct 1964 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 28 Feb 1969 |
| Grid connection | 5 May 1969 |
| Commercial operation | 28 Oct 1969 |
Tarapur nuclear power plant 5 Announced
| Reactor type | small modular reactor |
|---|---|
| Model | BSMR-200 |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 200MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Tarapur nuclear power plant 6 Announced
| Reactor type | small modular reactor |
|---|---|
| Model | SMR-55 |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 55MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Tarapur nuclear power plant in context
By gross operating capacity Tarapur nuclear power plant is the 4th largest of 7 operating nuclear sites in India, holding 15% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 131st of 172 worldwide.
Its operating units started up between 1969 and 2006; the median unit is 21.0 years old, younger than the median of 23.5 in India.
The 3 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 4.5 to 6.1 years (median 5.2) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 2000s is 6.8 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Kakrapar nuclear power plant (172 km).
3 operating units are rated differently now from their design net capacities: Unit 1 -25.0%, Unit 3 -2.4% and Unit 4 -2.4%.
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | 1964 | 1969 | 4.5 | 5.0 (1960s) |
| Unit 4 | 2000 | 2005 | 5.2 | 6.8 (2000s) |
| Unit 3 | 2000 | 2006 | 6.1 | 6.8 (2000s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kakrapar nuclear power plant | India | 172 km | 1.8 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Tarapur nuclear power plant's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | Maharashtra, India |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 19.8294, 72.6617 |
| Elevation | about 5 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the sea coast, 0.2 km from the water |
| Region | Southern Asia |
| Units by status | Operating: 3 Mothballed: 1 Announced: 2 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd |
|---|---|
| Operators | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data