Tana River nuclear power plant
Tana River nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in Kenya with 4 units on record. None is currently operating.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | Pre-construction | - | - | 1,000 | 2034 |
| Unit 2 | Pre-construction | - | - | 1,000 | 2035 |
| Unit 3 | Pre-construction | - | - | 1,000 | 2035 |
| Unit 4 | Pre-construction | - | - | 1,000 | 2035 |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Tana River nuclear power plant 1 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,000MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | Nuclear Power And Energy Agency100% |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2034 |
|---|
Tana River nuclear power plant 2 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,000MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | Nuclear Power And Energy Agency100% |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2035 |
|---|
Tana River nuclear power plant 3 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,000MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | Nuclear Power And Energy Agency100% |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2035 |
|---|
Tana River nuclear power plant 4 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,000MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | not established |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Owner | Nuclear Power And Energy Agency100% |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2035 |
|---|
| Location | Kwale, Kenya |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | -4.1803, 39.4628approximate |
| Elevation | not given: the position is only approximate |
| Setting | not given: the position is only approximate |
| Region | Sub-Saharan Africa |
| Units by status | Pre-construction: 4 |
| Owners | Nuclear Power And Energy Agency |
|---|---|
| Operators | not disclosed |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data