Kola nuclear power plant
Kola nuclear power plant is a nuclear power station in Russia with 4 operating units totalling 1,760 MW gross. The site has 7 units on record in total.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1-1 | PWR | VVER V-230 | 440 | 1973 | |
| Unit 1-2 | PWR | VVER V-230 | 440 | 1975 | |
| Unit 1-3 | PWR | VVER V-213 | 440 | 1982 | |
| Unit 1-4 | PWR | VVER V-213 | 440 | 1984 | |
| Unit 2-1 | Announced | PWR | VVER 600 | 600 | 2035 |
| Unit 2-2 | Announced | PWR | VVER 600 | 600 | 2040 |
| Unit 2-3 | Announced | PWR | VVER 600 | 600 | 2040 |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Kola nuclear power plant 1-1
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | VVER V-230 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 440MW |
| Net capacity | 411MW |
| Thermal output | 1,375MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Rosatom |
| Owner | Rosatom100% |
| Operator | Rosenergoatom |
| Construction start | 1 May 1970 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 26 Jun 1973 |
| Grid connection | 29 Jun 1973 |
| Commercial operation | 28 Dec 1973 |
Kola nuclear power plant 1-2
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | VVER V-230 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 440MW |
| Net capacity | 411MW |
| Thermal output | 1,375MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Rosatom |
| Owner | Rosatom100% |
| Operator | Rosenergoatom |
| Construction start | 1 May 1970 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 30 Nov 1974 |
| Grid connection | 9 Dec 1974 |
| Commercial operation | 21 Feb 1975 |
Kola nuclear power plant 1-3
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | VVER V-213 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 440MW |
| Net capacity | 411MW |
| Thermal output | 1,375MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Rosatom |
| Owner | Rosatom100% |
| Operator | Rosenergoatom |
| Construction start | 1 Apr 1977 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 7 Feb 1981 |
| Grid connection | 24 Mar 1981 |
| Commercial operation | 3 Dec 1982 |
Kola nuclear power plant 1-4
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | VVER V-213 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 440MW |
| Net capacity | 411MW |
| Thermal output | 1,375MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Rosatom |
| Owner | Rosatom100% |
| Operator | Rosenergoatom |
| Construction start | 1 Aug 1976 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 7 Oct 1984 |
| Grid connection | 11 Oct 1984 |
| Commercial operation | 6 Dec 1984 |
Kola nuclear power plant 2-1 Announced
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | VVER 600 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 600MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Rosatom |
| Owner | Rosatom100% |
| Operator | Rosenergoatom |
| Construction start | 1 Jan 2028 |
|---|---|
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2035 |
Kola nuclear power plant 2-2 Announced
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | VVER 600 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 600MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Rosatom |
| Owner | Rosatom100% |
| Operator | Rosenergoatom |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2040 |
|---|
Kola nuclear power plant 2-3 Announced
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | VVER 600 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 600MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Rosatom |
| Owner | Rosatom100% |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2040 |
|---|
Kola nuclear power plant in context
By gross operating capacity Kola nuclear power plant is the 8th largest of 10 operating nuclear sites in Russia, holding 6% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 109th of 172 worldwide.
Its operating units started up between 1973 and 1984; the median unit is 47.5 years old, older than the median of 37.5 in Russia.
The 4 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 3.2 to 8.2 years (median 4.3) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1980s is 7.3 years.
No other nuclear site with an exact position in this dataset lies within 300 km.
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1-1 | 1970 | 1973 | 3.2 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit 1-2 | 1970 | 1974 | 4.6 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit 1-3 | 1977 | 1981 | 4.0 | 7.3 (1980s) |
| Unit 1-4 | 1976 | 1984 | 8.2 | 7.3 (1980s) |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Kola nuclear power plant's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | Murmansk, Russia |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 67.4648, 32.4821 |
| Elevation | about 135 mabove sea level |
| Setting | 34.2 km from the sea |
| Region | Eastern Europe |
| Units by status | Operating: 4 Announced: 3 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (ASTER GDEM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Rosatom |
|---|---|
| Operators | Rosenergoatom |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data