Clinch River SMR nuclear power plant
Clinch River SMR nuclear power plant is a nuclear site in United States with 4 units on record. None is currently operating.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 1 | Pre-construction | BWR | BWRX-300 | 300 | 2033 |
| Unit 2 | Announced | BWR | BWRX-300 | 300 | - |
| Unit 3 | Announced | BWR | BWRX-300 | 300 | - |
| Unit 4 | Announced | BWR | BWRX-300 | 300 | - |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Clinch River SMR nuclear power plant 1 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWRX-300 |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 300MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Tennessee Valley Authority100% |
| Operator | Tennessee Valley Authority |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2033 |
|---|
Clinch River SMR nuclear power plant 2 Announced
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWRX-300 |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 300MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Tennessee Valley Authority100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Clinch River SMR nuclear power plant 3 Announced
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWRX-300 |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 300MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Tennessee Valley Authority100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Clinch River SMR nuclear power plant 4 Announced
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWRX-300 |
| Size class | Small |
| Gross capacity | 300MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | GE Vernova Hitachi Nuclear Energy |
| Owner | Tennessee Valley Authority100% |
| Milestones | no dates on record |
|---|
Clinch River SMR nuclear power plant in context
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are Watts Bar nuclear power plant (49 km), Sequoyah nuclear power plant (98 km) and Oconee nuclear power plant (181 km).
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| Watts Bar nuclear power plant | United States | 49 km | 2.4 |
| Sequoyah nuclear power plant | United States | 98 km | 2.4 |
| Oconee nuclear power plant | United States | 181 km | 2.7 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
| Location | Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 35.8894, -84.3793 |
| Elevation | about 245 mabove sea level |
| Setting | About 490 km from the sea |
| Region | Northern America |
| Units by status | Pre-construction: 1 Announced: 3 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Tennessee Valley Authority |
|---|---|
| Operators | Tennessee Valley Authority |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data