Turkey Point nuclear power station
Turkey Point nuclear power station is a nuclear power station in United States with 2 operating units totalling 1,658 MW gross. The site has 4 units on record in total.
Units
| Unit | Status | Type | Model | Gross MW | Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 3 | PWR | WH 3LP (DRYAMB) | 829 | 1972 | |
| Unit 4 | PWR | WH 3LP (DRYAMB) | 829 | 1973 | |
| Unit 6 | Pre-construction | PWR | AP-1000 | 1,250 | 2036 |
| Unit 7 | Pre-construction | PWR | AP-1000 | 1,250 | 2036 |
Unit by unit
Each unit's rating, type and milestone dates as recorded by the Global Nuclear Power Tracker, with any correction we made to it. A dash or "not disclosed" means the source does not give the value.
Turkey Point nuclear power station 3
GNPT gives a commercial operation date of 1 January 1972, before the unit's own grid connection on 2 November 1972: a year-only placeholder. The World Nuclear Association database lists 14 December 1972.
commercial_operation:
1972-01-01 → 1972-12-14
· World Nuclear Association, Nuclear Reactor Database, Turkey Point 3
· verified 2026-10-22
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | Westinghouse 3-loop |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 829MW |
| Net capacity | 837MW |
| Thermal output | 2,644MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Owner | Florida Power & Light Co100% |
| Operator | Florida Power & Light |
| Construction start | 27 Apr 1967 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 20 Oct 1972 |
| Grid connection | 2 Nov 1972 |
| Commercial operation | 14 Dec 1972 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Turkey Point nuclear power station 3
Turkey Point nuclear power station 4
GNPT gives a commercial operation date of 1 January 1973, before the unit's own grid connection on 21 June 1973: a year-only placeholder. The World Nuclear Association database lists 7 September 1973.
commercial_operation:
1973-01-01 → 1973-09-07
· World Nuclear Association, Nuclear Reactor Database, Turkey Point 4
· verified 2026-10-22
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | Westinghouse 3-loop |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 829MW |
| Net capacity | 821MW |
| Thermal output | 2,644MWt |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Owner | Florida Power & Light Co100% |
| Operator | Florida Power & Light |
| Construction start | 27 Apr 1967 |
|---|---|
| First criticality | 11 Jun 1973 |
| Grid connection | 21 Jun 1973 |
| Commercial operation | 7 Sep 1973 |
Live status, outage record and fuel chain for Turkey Point nuclear power station 4
Turkey Point nuclear power station 6 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | AP-1000 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,250MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Owner | Florida Power & Light Co100% |
| Operator | Florida Power & Light |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2036 |
|---|
Turkey Point nuclear power station 7 Pre-construction
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | AP-1000 |
| Size class | Large |
| Gross capacity | 1,250MW |
| Net capacity | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| NSSS vendor | Westinghouse Electric Company |
| Owner | Florida Power & Light Co100% |
| Operator | Florida Power & Light |
| Commercial operation | 1 Jan 2036 |
|---|
Turkey Point nuclear power station in context
By gross operating capacity Turkey Point nuclear power station is the 33rd largest of 54 operating nuclear sites in the United States, holding 2% of the country's operating capacity, and ranks 111th of 172 worldwide.
Its operating units started up between 1972 and 1973; the median unit is 53.5 years old, older than the median of 45.0 in the United States.
The 2 units with both construction and grid dates on record took 5.5 to 6.2 years (median 5.8) from construction start to grid connection; the median across all reactors connected in the 1970s is 5.4 years.
The nearest other tracked nuclear sites are St. Lucie nuclear power plant (213 km).
2 operating units are rated differently now from their design net capacities: Unit 3 +20.8% and Unit 4 +18.5%.
Build time by unit
| Unit | Construction start | Grid connection | Years | Fleet median, same decade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unit 3 | 1967 | 1972 | 5.5 | 5.4 (1970s) |
| Unit 4 | 1967 | 1973 | 6.2 | 5.4 (1970s) |
Nearest tracked nuclear sites
| Site | Country | Distance | Operating GW gross |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Lucie nuclear power plant | United States | 213 km | 2.1 |
How these are worked out: ranks use gross operating capacity; ages count from the start-up year on record, as on the age page; build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the build-times page; ratings are the tracker's net and design net capacity, as on the uprates page. Distances are straight-line between exact positions, so a site with only an approximate position gets none. A unit missing a date or a rating is left out of the figure that needs it.
Earthquakes nearby
Loading the latest USGS check…
| Time (UTC) | Mag | Depth | Epicentre | Distance |
|---|
Magnitude 4.0 and above within 200 km of Turkey Point nuclear power station's listed coordinates, past 30 days. This is distance, not shaking: it says nothing about damage or any change in operation. Every plant.
| Location | Florida, United States |
|---|---|
| Coordinates | 25.4345, -80.3324 |
| Elevation | about 10 mabove sea level |
| Setting | On the sea coast, 0.4 km from the water |
| Region | Northern America |
| Units by status | Operating: 2 Pre-construction: 2 |
Elevation is read at the listed coordinates from a 30 m terrain model (SRTM 30 m). Two independent models differ by a median of 6 m across our plants and by up to about 40 m on steep or coastal ground, and a point on a shoreline can read as sea level. Distance to the water is measured to a generalised 1:10 million coastline, so a few kilometres or less is not resolved. This is context, not a design-basis or flood-risk figure.
| Owners | Florida Power & Light Co |
|---|---|
| Operators | Florida Power & Light |
Put this plant on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another plant.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data