Nuclear power in Iran
nuclearchain.net/countries/iran/ · data: Global Energy Monitor (GNPT, August 2026), CC BY 4.0 · printed from the live page
Iran operates 1 nuclear power reactor across 4 sites, with 1.0 GW of gross capacity. A further 1 unit is under construction, adding 1.1 GW.
Operating fleet by type: PWR (1). Principal operator: Nuclear Power Production And Development CO Of Iran.
In September 2025 Iran signed a $25 billion contract with Rosatom to build four reactors at the Hormoz site, and in November 2025 its atomic energy chief described a plan to add 20 GWe with Russia. The IAEA board declared Iran in breach of its non-proliferation obligations in June 2025. Policy position as read on 2026-11-03: World Nuclear Association, Nuclear Power in Iran (page dated 2026-10-23).
Operating capacity over time
Data table
| Year | Units online | GW gross | Change, GW |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | 1 | 1.00 | +1.00 |
Only years in which capacity changed are listed.
Position in the fuel chain
| Facility | Stage | Operator | Capacity / output |
|---|---|---|---|
| Isfahan Uranium Conversion Facility | conversion | Atomic Energy Organization of Iran | 200tU/yr as UF6 |
| Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant | enrichment | Atomic Energy Organization of Iran | not disclosed |
| Fordow Fuel Enrichment Plant | enrichment | Atomic Energy Organization of Iran | not disclosed |
| Isfahan Fuel Manufacturing Plant | fabrication | Atomic Energy Organization of Iran | not disclosed |
All units in Iran
Fuel supply exposure
The fuel families Iran's operating reactors take, and the fabricators our sources document as able to make each. This is capability, not contracts: it does not say who actually supplies a given plant.
| Fuel family | Units | GW gross | Documented fabricators | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VVER (hexagonal) fuel | 1 | 1.0 | TVEL Fuel Company, Westinghouse Electric Company |
See every country and who fabricates fuel.
Put this country on your own page: embed a card, or compare it with another country.
Follow Iran: Atom feed of large earthquakes near Iran plants. Outage changes are only tracked for a few countries; see the alerts page.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
- Nuclear share of electricity: Our World in Data, from Ember and the Energy Institute , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-10-28
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data