Atomic Energy Organization of Iran
Atomic Energy Organization of Iran is a IRN company active in the nuclear fuel chain as conversion, enrichment, fabrication.
Operator of the only complete fuel chain in the Middle East: conversion and fuel manufacturing at Isfahan and enrichment at Natanz and Fordow, all under IAEA safeguards. The Agency last had access to any of it on 9 June 2025, and since military strikes that month has received no material accountancy reports and says the status of the nuclear material there is not known to it.
| Headquarters | Tehran, Iran |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1974 |
| Ownership | state |
| Roles in the chain | conversion, enrichment, fabrication |
Position in the chain
Downstream
Enriched uranium from this company feeds fuel fabrication, and from there 419 operating reactors across these types. Heavy water reactors are absent because they run on natural uranium and skip enrichment entirely.
| Reactor type | Operating units |
|---|---|
| Pressurised water reactor | 309 |
| Pressurised heavy water reactor | 46 |
| Boiling water reactor | 45 |
| Gas-cooled reactor | 9 |
| Light water graphite reactor | 7 |
| Fast reactor | 2 |
| High-temperature gas reactor | 1 |
Facilities
| Facility | Stage | Country | Capacity / output | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Isfahan Uranium Conversion Facility | conversion | IRN | 200tU/yr as UF6 | uncertain |
| Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant | enrichment | IRN | not disclosed | uncertain |
| Fordow Fuel Enrichment Plant | enrichment | IRN | not disclosed | uncertain |
| Isfahan Fuel Manufacturing Plant | fabrication | IRN | not disclosed | uncertain |
Atomic Energy Organization of Iran in context
Atomic Energy Organization of Iran has 4 facilities on record in 1 country (Iran): 0 operating.
How these are worked out: shares and ranks use the world totals cited in the table, and only named companies are ranked (unnamed or country-level entries in a source are not). A facility with no stated capacity is counted as a facility but adds nothing to a capacity figure. Vendor figures count operating units where this company is the recorded reactor vendor; ages count from the start-up year on record, and build times run from construction start to grid connection, as on the age and build-times pages.
Sources
- Atomic Energy Organization of Iran, company source
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data