Siaya nuclear power plant
Announced Kenya
Gross capacity
1,000MW
Siaya nuclear power plant is a nuclear unit at Siaya nuclear power plant in Kenya rated at 1,000 MW gross. It is announced. Commercial operation began 1 Jan 2034.
Specification
| Reactor type | not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | not disclosed |
| Coolant | not disclosed |
| Moderator | not disclosed |
| Gross capacity | 1,000MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Typical enrichment | not disclosed |
Ownership & location
| Site | Siaya nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | not stated |
| Country | Kenya |
| Owner | Nuclear Power And Energy Agency100% |
| Coordinates | -0.3850, 34.2841approximate |
Fuel chain for this unit
Fuel form
not established for this unit's type
Enrichment
not established
Upstream
Enriched fuel means this unit sits downstream of five conversion plants and four enrichment operators holding 88% of world capacity between the top three.
Fabricator capability is recorded against reactor type and model line, not against named units —
utilities do not publish fuel contracts. See the fuel chain.
Timeline
- 1 Jan 2034Commercial operation
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release — CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2026-06-24
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) — CC BY-SA 4.0 — linked, not quoted