Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 8
Cancelled Japan
Gross capacity
1,380MW
Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 8 is a boiling water reactor unit at Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant in Japan rated at 1,380 MW gross. It is cancelled.
Specification
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Coolant | Light water |
| Moderator | Light water |
| Gross capacity | 1,380MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Typical enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
Ownership & location
| Site | Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | 8 |
| Country | Japan |
| Owner | Tokyo Electric Power Co100% |
| Operator | Tokyo Electric Power |
| Coordinates | 37.4231, 141.0331 |
| Cancelled | 2014 |
Fuel chain for this unit
Fuel form
Uranium dioxide pellets in zirconium-alloy cladding
Enrichment
3–5% U-235
Who makes this assembly
- Framatome BWR fuel assemblies
- Global Nuclear Fuel BWR fuel assemblies
- Westinghouse Electric Company BWR fuel assemblies
Upstream
Enriched fuel means this unit sits downstream of five conversion plants and four enrichment operators holding 88% of world capacity between the top three.
Fabricator capability is recorded against reactor type and model line, not against named units —
utilities do not publish fuel contracts. See the fuel chain.
Other units at Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant
| Unit | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|
| Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 1 | Retired | 460 |
| Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 2 | Retired | 784 |
| Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 3 | Retired | 784 |
| Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 4 | Retired | 784 |
| Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 5 | Retired | 784 |
| Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 6 | Retired | 1,100 |
| Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant 7 | Cancelled | 1,380 |
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release — CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2024-05-16
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) — CC BY-SA 4.0 — linked, not quoted