Columbia nuclear power plant EPU
Pre-construction United States
Gross capacity
162MW
Columbia nuclear power plant EPU is a boiling water reactor unit at Columbia nuclear power plant in United States rated at 162 MW gross. It is pre-construction. Commercial operation began 1 Jan 2031.
Specification
| Reactor type | Boiling water reactor (BWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | BWR-5 (Mark 2) |
| Size class | Large |
| Coolant | Light water |
| Moderator | Light water |
| Gross capacity | 162MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Typical enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
Ownership & location
| Site | Columbia nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | EPU |
| Country | United States |
| Owner | Energy Northwest100% |
| Operator | Energy Northwest |
| Coordinates | 46.4711, -119.3339 |
Fuel chain for this unit
Fuel form
Uranium dioxide pellets in zirconium-alloy cladding
Enrichment
3–5% U-235
Who makes this assembly
- Framatome BWR fuel assemblies
- Global Nuclear Fuel BWR fuel assemblies
- Westinghouse Electric Company BWR fuel assemblies
Upstream
Enriched fuel means this unit sits downstream of five conversion plants and four enrichment operators holding 88% of world capacity between the top three.
Fabricator capability is recorded against reactor type and model line, not against named units —
utilities do not publish fuel contracts. See the fuel chain.
Timeline
- 1 Jan 2031Commercial operation
Other units at Columbia nuclear power plant
| Unit | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|
| Columbia nuclear power plant 1 | 1,190 |
Other BWR-5 (Mark 2) units
5 units worldwide share this model designation.
| Unit | Country | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Columbia nuclear power plant 1 | United States | 1,190 | |
| LaSalle nuclear power plant 1 | United States | 1,207 | |
| LaSalle nuclear power plant 2 | United States | 1,207 | |
| Nine Mile Point nuclear power plant 2 | United States | 1,320 |
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release — CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2026-06-29
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) — CC BY-SA 4.0 — linked, not quoted