Sizewell nuclear power plant C1
Pre-construction United Kingdom
Gross capacity
1,600MW
Sizewell nuclear power plant C1 is a pressurised heavy water reactor unit at Sizewell nuclear power plant in United Kingdom rated at 1,600 MW gross. It is pre-construction.
Specification
| Reactor type | Pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | EPR |
| Size class | Large |
| Coolant | Heavy water |
| Moderator | Heavy water |
| Gross capacity | 1,600MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Typical enrichment | Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235 |
Ownership & location
| Site | Sizewell nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | C1 |
| Country | United Kingdom |
| Owner | Government of United Kingdom83% EDF Energy Ltd16% |
| Coordinates | 52.2199, 1.6203 |
Fuel chain for this unit
Fuel form
Natural uranium dioxide bundles
Enrichment
Natural uranium, 0.71% U-235 no enrichment required
Who makes this assembly
- BWX Technologies CANDU fuel bundles, natural uranium
- Cameco Corporation CANDU fuel bundles, natural uranium
- China North Nuclear Fuel Company CANDU fuel bundles
- KEPCO Nuclear Fuel CANDU fuel bundles
- Nuclear Power Corporation of India PHWR fuel bundles, natural uranium
Upstream
This unit runs on natural uranium, so its fuel chain has no enrichment step at all: mine → mill → conversion → fabrication. That is the shortest fuel chain of any commercial reactor type, and it makes the operator independent of the four organisations that control enrichment worldwide.
Fabricator capability is recorded against reactor type and model line, not against named units —
utilities do not publish fuel contracts. See the fuel chain.
Other units at Sizewell nuclear power plant
| Unit | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|
| Sizewell nuclear power plant A1 | Retired | 245 |
| Sizewell nuclear power plant A2 | Retired | 245 |
| Sizewell nuclear power plant B | 1,250 | |
| Sizewell nuclear power plant C2 | Pre-construction | 1,600 |
Other EPR units
18 units worldwide share this model designation.
| Unit | Country | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flamanville nuclear power plant 3 | France | 1,650 | |
| Olkiluoto nuclear power plant 3 | Finland | 1,720 | |
| Bell Bend nuclear power plant | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Callaway nuclear power plant 2A | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Calvert Cliffs nuclear power plant 3 | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Idaho Energy Complex nuclear power plant | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 1 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 2 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 3 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 4 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 5 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 6 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release — CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2026-06-30
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) — CC BY-SA 4.0 — linked, not quoted