Idaho National Laboratory Demonstration nuclear power plant
Cancelled (inferred) United States
Gross capacity
15MW
Idaho National Laboratory Demonstration nuclear power plant is a gas-cooled reactor unit at Idaho National Laboratory Demonstration nuclear power plant in United States rated at 15 MW gross. It is cancelled (a status Global Energy Monitor inferred from an absence of observed progress).
Specification
| Reactor type | Gas-cooled reactor (GCR) |
|---|---|
| Model | MMR |
| Size class | Large |
| Coolant | Carbon dioxide |
| Moderator | Graphite |
| Gross capacity | 15MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Typical enrichment | Natural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235 |
Ownership & location
| Site | Idaho National Laboratory Demonstration nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | not stated |
| Country | United States |
| Owner | Ultra Safe Nuclear Corp100% |
| Coordinates | 43.5194, -112.0458approximate |
Fuel chain for this unit
Fuel form
Uranium metal (Magnox) or uranium dioxide (AGR)
Enrichment
Natural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235 no enrichment required
Upstream
This unit runs on natural uranium, so its fuel chain has no enrichment step at all: mine → mill → conversion → fabrication. That is the shortest fuel chain of any commercial reactor type, and it makes the operator independent of the four organisations that control enrichment worldwide.
Fabricator capability is recorded against reactor type and model line, not against named units —
utilities do not publish fuel contracts. See the fuel chain.
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release — CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2025-06-25
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) — CC BY-SA 4.0 — linked, not quoted